Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cataloging Items in Pathfinder
The purpose of this guide is to provide useful information that will help the cataloger produce uniform MARC (machine readable cataloging) records or to locate them for import into Pathfinder Central via Z39.50 searching. Pathfinder Central, our Integrated Library System (ILS), uses RDA (Resource Description and Access) cataloging standards.
RDA cataloging (Wikipedia link) was fully implemented and adopted by the Library of Congress as of March 2013. Many records that you import will reflect RDA cataloging. RDA records will have words spelled out that are normally abbreviated in AACR2. In addition, the publishing information will show in the 264 field, leaving the 260 field empty. RDA adds three new fields in the 300s: 336, 337, 338. Previously it was necessary to edit RDA records to make them AACR2 compatible. On September 1, 2016 our MARC bibliographic framework was modified to show RDA fields from imported records.
Pathfinder Cataloging Manual
When attaching holdings to records please populate the fields in red in addition to any other fields your library uses.
Mandatory Fields - Item Detail Screen
8 - Koha Collection
a - Location (home branch)
b - Sublocation or collection (holding branch)
e - Source of Acquisition &/or your initials
o - Koha full call number
p - Place designation (barcode)
v - Cost, replacement price
y - Koha Item type
* Default Replacement Values:
Audio - $50.00 . This includes Playaways
Book - $20.00
Magazine - $3.00
Cake Pan - $25.00
Game - $50.00
DVD and Blu-Ray - $15.00
Dewey Decimal System Classification
Cataloging Resources in Pathfinder
If you want to learn more about cataloging, these books are good resources that are available in the CKLS area by using Pathfinder Interlibrary Loan or regular interlibrary loan.
Cataloging and Classification by
Call Number: 025.3 Chan, Lois
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
This book covers the analysis and representation of methods used in describing, organizing, and providing access to resources made available in libraries.
This text presents the essence of library cataloging and classification in terms of three basic functions: descriptive cataloging, subject access, and classification.
RDA Essentials by
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
This concise guide to cataloging with RDA: Resource Description and Access specifically hones in on the needs of those seeking a simplified path to creating basic RDA records. Current with RDA instructions through the April 2015 update to RDA, this guide makes an excellent primer while also serving as a bridge to more complex cataloging.
The RDA Workbook by
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Designed to be used by academic, public, and school librarians, this is the perfect introduction to RDA rules for libraries that need a basic understanding of the subject. Focuses on the new RDA rules and their implementation, particularly in smaller libraries where there are no professional catalogers. Also features a step-by-step guide to creating bibliographic records for print and electronic books, videos, and other formats.
Subject Headings and Controlled Vocabulary
Adding subject headings, selected from a controlled vocabulary, to a catalog record allows the catalog user to retrieve all items on a given subject in a consistent manner.
CKLS uses Library of Congress for controlled vocabulary.
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) were developed and are maintained by the U.S. Library of Congress, initially for the collections of the Library. LCSH, as a controlled vocabulary used for indexing, cataloging, and searching for bibliographic records in library catalogs and electronic databases, has become a de facto standard for libraries who use cataloging records disseminated by the Library of Congress, or who catalog to the standards set collaboratively by the Library of Congress and the library community. LCSH is updated daily in Classification Web.